What is JEE Main?

JEE i.e. the Joint Entrance Examination is a replacement to the former AIEEE and IIT-JEE engineering entrance examinations. CBSE had introduced this system of examination in the year 2013.

The Joint Entrance Exam (JEE-2013) is conducted in two parts: JEE-Main and JEE-Advanced. The top 150,000 candidates who qualify the exam are eligible to appear in the JEE-Advanced test.

…The JEE-Main is the criteria to seek admission at Undergraduate Engineering Programs at NITs, IITs, and other centrally funded technical institutions, institutions funded by participating State Governments, and other Institutions.

How candidates are selected in JEE?

The selection process includes the performance of desired candidate in the class 12th or any equivalent qualifying examination along with his/her performance in the Joint Entrance Examination, JEE (Main).

The Paper-1 (B. E./B. Tech. courses) of JEE (Main) will also be an eligibility test for the JEE (Advanced), which the candidate has to take if he/she is aspiring for admission to the undergraduate programs offered by the IITs.

Almost all states of India including Gujarat, Maharashtra, Nagaland and Odisha have joined the JEE (Main) system. Therefore, the candidates seeking admission to the institutions in those states, which were earlier admitting candidates based on their State Level Examination, can also fill the JEE Main 2015 application form.

Click Here

Hey! need tips for JEE preparation?

What is eligibility criteria for JEE?

Only those candidates who have passed their Class 12th exam or any equivalent qualifying examination in 2013 or 2014; or those who are appearing in their intermediate exam or any equivalent qualifying examination in 2015 are eligible to appear in JEE (Main) -2015 examination.

Candidates who had passed their Class 12th/Qualifying examination in 2012 or before and those who will appear in such examination in 2016 or later are not eligible to appear in JEE (Main)-2015 examination.

Candidates who appeared in class 12th/equivalent Qualifying Examinations in 2012, did not pass in 2012, but passed in 2013 are also not eligible to appear in the exam.

What is pattern of JEE?

JEE Main have comprise of two papers, Paper-1 and Paper-2. Candidates may take Paper-1, or Paper-2, or both as per the course(s) they are seeking admission to according to their preference.

The examination is conducted by Central board of Secondary Education. The duration of the exam is three hours. Negative marking is also included in the scoring pattern. The pattern of the examination is objective type with four options having a single correct answer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *